DKSJ Exchange

The Directors' Conference of the Swiss Jazz Schools (DKSJ) is continuing a new partnership-based concert series with the Exchange Nights.


Good music needs to be heard:

Selected bachelor project bands from the jazz departments of the five music academies in Basel, Bern, Lausanne, Lucerne and Zurich present themselves with concerts in the cities of the partner schools.
With the Exchange Nights, the jazz departments of the five music colleges have created a platform for young talents from the Swiss jazz scene. This is where selected students meet, exchange ideas and present their final projects from the bachelor's degree on a small tour of Switzerland.

M.O.R.I (Zurich)

restless journey. jerky, impulsive mood changes. repetitive, meditative patterns. multi-layered, irregular rhythms. instrumental interaction. sometimes quiet, heartfelt, intimate. often deafening, inyourface, snotty. sometimes lean, reduced. sometimes diverse, rich. sometimes mathematically organized order. times randomly improvised without rules. multicolored imagination.

Marina Iten (as), Joa Frey (guitar), tba (b), Ramzi Hammad (dr)

Emotions in Motion

The members of the Baptiste Stanek Trio combine their individual strengths for a journey through different landscapes of jazz. The music between volcanic pulse, urban tension and the melancholy of the wilderness corresponds at the same time to a cartography of their inner spaces. 

Baptiste Stanek (sax), Tabea Kind (b), Václav Palka (dr)

Im Nu

Instantly, in a flash, jerkily, nothing to you, in a wink, in a trice. In a line-up similar to the Paul Motian Trio, we discover a world between acoustic and electronic sounds, blurring melodies and contrasting noises - it's a search for an unstable soundscape, for distant stillness and the opportunity to be in the blink of an eye.

Philippe Vögeli (git), Paul Butscher (flh, tp), Xavier Käser (dr) 

Vincent Schmidt

Lausann_Vincent_Schmidt(c)PascalSchmidt.jpg

Vincent Schmidt, a solo guitarist alternating between power and melancholy, expresses his emotions with his ten fingers. The bass is led by the thumb, the melody is narrated by the fingers, and the percussion is played by those who are still available. He takes us into a poetic universe with his acoustic guitar. At the age of 24, Vincent released his second solo album "Between Hope And Fire" in May 2019. However, he will also perform tracks from his debut album, Feelings, and will not forget to present some tracks by Tommy Emmanuel, his biggest influence.

Vincent Schmidt (guitar/voc)

Maurice Storrer Quartet

Bild Luzern_Maurice Storrer Quartett.jpg

The Maurice Storrer Quartet builds on the aesthetics of traditional jazz from the 1950s and 1960s. With influences from swing, cool jazz and hard bop, the band revives the music of that time. Accompanied by the colorful richness of harmony of classical jazz, a varied, energetic music is created, which stimulates to dream, think and snap along.

Maurice Storrer (sax), Felix Geidel (p), Marius Sommer (ba), Aaron Leutenegger (dr)

DKSJ Exchange

La Conférence des directeurs des écoles suisses de jazz (DKSJ) poursuit une nouvelle série de concerts en partenariat avec les Exchange Nights.


La bonne musique doit être entendue :

Des groupes de projet de bachelor sélectionnés dans les départements de jazz des cinq académies de musique de Bâle, Berne, Lausanne, Lucerne et Zurich se présentent avec des concerts dans les villes des écoles partenaires.
Avec les Exchange Nights, les départements de jazz des cinq écoles de musique ont créé une plate-forme pour les jeunes talents de la scène jazz suisse. C'est là que les étudiants sélectionnés se rencontrent, échangent des idées et présentent leurs projets finaux du baccalauréat lors d'un petit tour de Suisse.

M.O.R.I (Zurich)

voyage agité. changements d'humeur saccadés et impulsifs. motifs répétitifs et méditatifs. rythmes multicouches et irréguliers. interactions instrumentales. parfois calme, sincère, intime. souvent assourdissant, inyourface, morveux. parfois maigre, réduit. parfois divers, riche. ordre parfois mathématiquement organisé. fois improvisé au hasard sans règles. imaginaire multicolore.

Marina Iten (as), Joa Frey (guitare), tba (b), Ramzi Hammad (dr)

Emotions in Motion

Les membres du Baptiste Stanek Trio unissent leurs forces individuelles pour un voyage à travers différents paysages du jazz. La musique entre pulsation volcanique, tension urbaine et mélancolie de la nature sauvage correspond en même temps à une cartographie de leurs espaces intérieurs.  

Baptiste Stanek (sax), Tabea Kind (b), Václav Palka (dr)

Im Nu

« Augenblicklich, blitzartig, ruckartig, mir nichts dir nichts, in einem Wink, im Nu ».

Avec une formation similaire au trio de Paul Motian, nous découvrons un monde entre sons acoustiques et électroniques, mélodies qui s'estompent et bruits contradictoires - c'est la recherche d'un monde sonore instable, d'un silence lointain et de l'occasion d'être en un instant.

Philippe Vögeli (git), Paul Butscher (flh, tp), Xavier Käser (dr) 

Vincent Schmidt

Lausann_Vincent_Schmidt(c)PascalSchmidt.jpg

Vincent Schmidt, un guitariste soliste alternant entre la puissance et la mélancolie, exprime ses émotions avec ses 10 doigts. La basse menée par le pouce, la mélodie racontée par les doigts et la percussion jouée par ceux qui sont encore disponibles, il nous emmène avec sa guitare acoustique dans un univers poétique. Du haut de ses 24 ans, Vincent à sorti son deuxième album solo « Between Hope And Fire » en mai 2019. Toutefois, il interprétera aussi des morceaux de son premier album « Feelings » et n’oubliera pas de présenter quelques morceaux de Tommy Emmanuel, sa plus grande influence.

Maurice Storrer Quartet

Bild Luzern_Maurice Storrer Quartett.jpg

Le Maurice Storrer Quartet s'appuie sur l'esthétique du jazz traditionnel des années 1950 et 1960. Avec des influences swing, cool jazz et hard bop, le groupe fait revivre la musique de cette époque. Accompagné par la richesse colorée de l'harmonie du jazz classique, une musique variée et énergique est créée, qui stimule à rêver, à réfléchir et à s'accrocher.

Maurice Storrer (sax), Felix Geidel (p), Marius Sommer (ba), Aaron Leutenegger (dr)